cravos – oeillets – carnations

P1010130

I remember asking my mother, when I was a child,  if she could draw me something. She immediately draw me a flower, a red carnation. They were her favorite fowers, she planted them, she bought them, she loved them.

They are also a very strong symbol for the portuguese people, they were the flowers associated with the Portuguese Revolution of April 25th, 1974 also called the Carnation Revolution. It is our collective memory besides being my personal memory.

I’m working on some paintings where there will be carnations, here I worked with inks and beeswax. I like the ethereal result. I have 3 for sale on my shop.

  1. Hi, thanks for leaving a comment on my blog.
    I love your blog too, and your paintings!
    These paintings of the flowers are really great!
    I want to work with beeswax for a long time but still didn’t try it…

  2. sofiabarao

    Thanks Sylvie and welcome to my blog, glad to have you here !




Leave a Reply

